SECTION 6. U.P. Visayas. The U.P. Visayas shall be composed of all existing units of the U.P. Visayas including the College of Fisheries.

The U.P. College Cebu and U.P. College Tacloban shall be part of U.P. Visayas two (2) years from the issuance of this Executive Order unless the Board of Regents decides to upgrade these two (2) units into autonomous units. In the meantime, these two (2) units shall be under the supervision of the Office of the Chancellor, U.P. Diliman, during the two-year transition period.

SECTION 7. University Council for Each Autonomous Campus. Each autonomous unit shall have its own University Council composed of the chancellor, professors, associate professors, and assistant professors of the autonomous campus. The Chancellor shall serve as Chairman and the University Registrar as Secretary.

SECTION 8. Functions of the University Council. The functions of the University Council shall be as defined in the University Charter, the University Code and pertinent resolutions of the Board of Regents.

SECTION 9. University Council Secretariat. Each autonomous unit may establish a University Council Secretariat, which shall be created upon recommendation by the Chancellor with the concurrence of the President, subject to approval by the Board of Regents.

The University Council Secretariat shall assist the Chairman and the Secretary of the University Council in the management of the affairs of the Council and in coordinating and monitoring the work of the various standing committees.

The University Council Secretariat shall be placed under the Office of the University Registrar.

SECTION 10. The President. Leadership in the University of the Philippines is vested in the President who shall be the Chief Executive Officer of the University. He shall be <u>ex officio</u> head of the University of the Philippines faculty. He shall also be an <u>ex officio</u> member of the University Council of each autonomous unit and shall preside over its meetings whenever present.

SECTION 11. The Chancellor. Each autonomous unit shall be headed by a Chancellor, to be appointed by the Board of Regents upon the recommendation of the President for a term of five (5) years. The Chancellor shall be directly responsible to the President in the administration of the autonomous unit. He shall be the executive officer of the autonomous unit. He shall also perform such other functions as the Board of Regents or the President may delegate to him. a

٦